Wainwright Fells At 50

blencathra-4242

I’ve set myself the challenge of completing all the 214 Wainwright Fells during my 50s since reaching my half century earlier this year. In the past 10 years or so I’ve completed 59 of the 214 fells so will have to get a move on to complete the rest! Will be using colour images to record my progress.

The fell pictured is Blencathra, one of the most famous and popular fells in the Lake District. I’ve not yet summoned up the courage to venture to its summit via the notorious Sharp Edge. This route passes what is known as the ‘Usual Gully’ where a number of walkers have sadly come to grief. (Named by Keswick Mountain Rescue Team because if someone falls that’s generally where it occurs).

Would like to attempt an Everest base camp trek before I turn 60, so that’s the next decade in my life thoroughly mapped out!

© Simon Howlett 2014. All rights reserved

 

6 thoughts on “Wainwright Fells At 50

  1. Good stuff! With the right motivation and determination I’m sure you’ll achieve your goals, and I look forward to reading about it as you do. I would put Sharp Edge above all the other ridges in the Lakes I’ve done. Well worth the trip.

    • Thanks for following, taking a look and commenting, Ethan! Yes, Sharp Edge is number one on my list too. Very much looking forward to reading more of your posts, you have been on some amazing adventures!

    • Thank you 🙂 I’ve slowly but surely been visiting these fells but would like to visit them all at least once, so decided to give myself a time limit!

      Planning to shoot photos with a vintage Vest Pocket Kodak camera if I make the trip to Everest base camp. Mallory and Irvine used this type of camera in 1924 when attempting to summit Everest.

      Thanks for commenting and the follow, I really appreciate it. Looking forward to following your blog and reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

