Vest Pocket Kodak – Sycamore Gap

vest_pocket_kodak223-Edit

Sycamore Gap, Hadrian’s Wall shot with a vintage (1914) Vest Pocket Kodak loaded with Efke 100 film. Will be taking two Vest Pocket Kodaks out to France/Belgium this year to photograph the Somme, Ypres and Arras landscape. Hope to visit Paris as well and photograph the city at night with a digital SLR.

I’m very pleased with the photos this camera has produced, especially considering it has just turned 101! Film was developed with Rodinal 1+25, 6 minutes. Negatives scanned and then processed in Lightroom.

vest_pocket_kodak228-Edit

Vest Pocket Kodak.

vest_pocket_kodak-7616

Β© Simon Howlett 2015. All rights reserved

19 thoughts on “Vest Pocket Kodak – Sycamore Gap

  1. Superb Simon! I’m particularly looking forward to your WWI battlefield pictures! It really is amazing the images these cameras produce. I’ve just committed my first 120 B&W film to the developing tank this evening. Will develop tomorrow using standard ilford chemicals. I’m on a very steep learning curve but one I’m enjoying. πŸ™‚

    • Cheers Adrian! I hope all has gone well with the B&W film developing? I’m still experimenting with and enjoying developing too. It’s a great feeling when it all goes well and a decent set of negatives are hanging up to dry.

    • Thanks Barbara. Yes, it would be great if my digital camera could see me out … no more shelling out for a replacement! πŸ™‚ Spending 2 weeks in France and taking plenty of film, so hopefully will come back with some decent results.

  2. Love that first photo – I thought it was Hadrian’s Wall before I opened the post. My Dad has a couple of really old cameras – one is a box brownie and the other looks a bit like that but I’m not sure what it is. I thought my Zenith was old but it’s probably only about 30!
    Carol.

    • Hi Carol, I’m pleased you like the photos πŸ™‚ Sycamore Gap is a lovely spot. I often head out there with a camera. The tree’s been photographed a lot, so wanted to try something a little different … see how it looked Vest Pocket Kodak style!

      Does your Dad use the box brownie? I’ve thought of getting one myself but have been busy getting to grips with the Kodak. The Zenith is a classic, is it a lot of fun to work with?

      • My Dad doesn’t really get out much now – he’s in his mid 80s so no, unfortunately, he doesn’t use the cameras any more. If you wanted them, I’m sure he’d let you have them for nothing.

        The Zenith is pretty easy to use and, of course, the main thing is that I’m used to it which helps enormously. It can literally do anything you want it to do and, as I just do landscapes and am not very knowledgeable, I probably waste it a bit. I’d love to do some night photography and it will tell me in the manual how to do it but I haven’t got round to reading that bit properly yet. I think I’ll get confused with the light readings and how long to expose for etc.

      • Thanks for your kind offer, Carol. Your Dad should keep hold of the cameras though, he might get to use them again at some point.

        I hope you get chance to do some night photography. I had a go at Berwick-upon-Tweed using a digital SLR and enjoyed it. Haven’t tried night photography with a film camera though, but it’s on my ‘to do’ list.

      • I’m pretty sure my Dad’s cameras won’t see the light of day again. He hasn’t taken a photo in years – my Mum was the main photographer and she has an old Zenith film SLR like me.

  3. These landscapes are superb…I’ve never heard of this camera before; isn’t it incredible that it still works this good? Thank you so much for popping by my blog and your kind comment, I’ve enjoyed looking here very much!

    • Thanks for taking a look and commenting, I really appreciate it. Yes, it’s amazing these cameras still work after all these years. I’m looking forward to visiting France/Belgium with them.

Leave a Reply

