Stoer Head – Sutherland

stoer_head_lighthouse-4957

Stoer Head Lighthouse was built in the 19th century and stands at the northern end of The Minch, a strait which separates the North West Highlands from the Hebrides. In a bothy close by there’s a remarkable mural of the lighthouse, thought to have been painted in the 19th century. The Old Man of Stoer in the photograph below is a 200ft sea stack which is inhabited by fulmars and popular with rock climbers.

old_man_of_stoer-4984

It’s a fair walk between the two, which was made a little more difficult as I was carrying digital and film cameras. These photos were made with a digital SLR. I didn’t get to use the film camera much during the two days I spent at this location. However, I hope to pay a return visit one day with plenty of rolls of film!

© Simon Howlett 2015. All rights reserved

17 thoughts on “Stoer Head – Sutherland

  1. I saw your comment and needed to check out your photos. Your work is beautiful. I see you do platinum/palladium printing as well. I only have a little experience with that process but am looking forward to becoming proficient once I find suitable workspace. I am also wanting to try my hand at salt printing. It is good to “meet” you!

    • Thank you for your kind words, Sue. It’s good to “meet” you too! Looking forward to seeing more of your work. I hope you find suitable workspace so you can continue with platinum/palladium printing.

    • Thanks Marks and Joey. Yes, it was great to explore this wild shoreline. At times I had to take shelter behind a big rock the first day I visited The Old Man of Stoer. It’s very exposed to any wind and rain that comes through.

    • Thanks Carol. I’m not sure if the ferry to the Uists passes close to the lighthouse but I’d imagine it can be seen in the distance. A visit to the Uists would be nice, I’ll take the ferry across one day and have a look 🙂

      • Actually, I’ve just looked up the location of The Stoer again and I don’t think we would have passed anywhere near it. Lovely spot though. The Uists are wonderful – mountains and moorland down one side and lovely beaches down the other. My favourites were South Uist (atmosphere and nice hills) and Harris (beautiful beaches). Barra’s nice too 🙂

  2. Superb atmospheric compositions. Somehow, they are both intensely dramatic and full of calm at the same time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

