Housesteads Roman Fort & Milecastle 42

hadrians_wall-6134

Hadrian’s Wall from Housesteads Fort

Housesteads is a magnificent fort which I’ve visited many times but rarely photographed. I wasn’t sure the clear skies would work well in the photos but after processing the images I think it provides good contrast with the detail of the stonework. Will continue to visit these sites on a regular basis … making sure I have a camera with me!

hadrians_wall-6115

Housesteads Roman Fort

hadrians_wall-5797

Milecastle 42

© Simon Howlett 2015. Allrights reserved.

9 thoughts on “Housesteads Roman Fort & Milecastle 42

    • Thank you, Karen! I haven’t always appreciated clear blue skies when I’m out with a camera, but in future will head out to Hadrian’s Wall if they’re forecast. Every clear blue sky has a silver lining! 😉

    • More digital work, Carol. I’ve been out with a film camera but haven’t got round to developing the film yet. Planning to print a few platinum/palladium prints too. The chemistry I have is getting a little old so need to test it out to see if it’s still OK.

      • yeah I know all about dubious chemicals – the print quality varies hugely when you have them commercially processed nowadays and I think it’s because so few people are doing and so the chemicals are getting old

    • Thanks for taking a look and commenting, Barbara. Not much blue sky here in Cumbria recently, so haven’t had the chance to visit Hadrian’s Wall again. I’m hoping the relentless rain will ease off.

Leave a Reply

