Faroe Islands Trip

tindholmur-8163-2

The Faroe Islands are truly spectacular and I had the pleasure of exploring them for fifteen days back in September. Had a great day hiking out to the location above, it’s one of the best walks I’ve ever done. Viewed from Kviviksskoranøva, the islet is Tindhólmur with the island of Mykines beyond.  The five peaks of Tindhólmur are named Ytsti, Arni, Lítli, Breiði and Bogdi. Mykines has a population of ten and is the westernmost island of the Faroe Islands. The artist, Sámal Joensen-Mikines, was born there.

kalsoy-8884

It was a bit of a trek getting to Kallur lighthouse in the second photo. I flew to the Faroe Islands via Copenhagen, then drove to Klaksvik and caught the ferry to the island of Kalsoy. Drove through four mountain tunnels and then hiked for one hour to get to this particular spot. Once the wind had eased off I felt brave enough to cross the ridge (1000 ft drop to the sea on each side) to the point where I made the photo.

tjornuvik-8767

The third photo is of two distant sea stacks viewed from Tjørnuvík. They are named Risin and Kellingin (The Giant and the Witch) which relates to a legend about an Icelandic giant and witch who attempted to haul the Faroe Islands back to Iceland with a rope. Needless to say, they encountered some difficulty in achieving this! The mountain split at the point where the rope was attached but the giant and witch continued with their task throughout the night. As dawn broke, the first beams of sunlight turned them into stone. The notch where the rope was attached can be seen from the other side of the headland. Risin is 71 metres in height and Kellingin is 68 metres.

kirkjoubour-9071

St Olav’s Church above is a medieval church in the village of Kirkjubøur and is the oldest church in the Faroe Islands. The north wall has evidence of a former opening, through which lepers listened to the service from outside. A Viking runestone was housed in the church but is now held in the national museum, Tórshavn.

The final image is of what is believed to be a Viking sundial or a compass rose. Approximately twelve inches in diameter it is situated close to the Tinganes in Tórshavn old town.

More of these images can be seen on my website using the following link. Please take a look if you have a few minutes 🙂 : Faroe Islands

torshavn-0697

© Simon Howlett 2018. All rights reserved

17 thoughts on “Faroe Islands Trip

    • Thank you very much Denise. I’m hoping to return to the Faroe Islands and would like to visit the westernmost island of Mykines. The ferry can be a bit hit and miss due to heavy seas but I’m determined to venture across next time!

    • Thank you very much Jane. The islands certainly lived up to expectations, I was amazed at how dramatic they were. The huge sea cliffs, wide open spaces and exhilarating walks are good for the soul! Would like to visit in the winter next time.

    • Thank you Barbara. I really enjoyed the trip, some of the best walks I’ve ever done. I’m hoping to return one day when there’s a bit of snow about, the islands are breathtakingly beautiful in winter 🙂

    • Thanks Jesús, it’s good to hear from you. I hope you are keeping well. Yes, I would recommend you go if you get the chance. When I was perched up on top of the sea cliffs it was like peering over the edge of the world!

    • Thanks Carol. I think in recent years it has been thought more likely to be a compass. I really like the idea of a Viking sundial though! That’s right, no one permanently lives on Tindholmur but there are two small cottages and the occasional boat trip. Would be nice to spend some time there.

  1. The Faeroe islands are an amazing place, they certainly are on my list of places I want to go. You captured some strong images here. I love that you chose B&W since we so often see Faeroe islands in various tones of intense green.

    • Thank you Otto. I think B&W helps to reveal the rugged and precipitous nature of the islands. I do hope you get the opportunity to visit one day. I’m hoping to return and explore some of the more remote islands in the group, especially Suðuroy where the Faroese artist Ruth Smith lived.

Leave a comment