True Love!

platinum_print516-2

I’m not an advocate of carving names or initials into tree trunks but I often document them. I initially read the first as USA but I think it is in fact LISA. These four examples are from the Lake District.

Each is a 6 x 9 inch platinum/palladium print made using the 19th century platinum printing process. Shot with a digital SLR each image was processed in photoshop to produce a negative which was then printed on Pictorico OHP transparency film. The final prints were made on Bergger COT-320 paper.

platinum_print517-2

platinum_print519-2

platinum_print518-2

© Simon Howlett 2019. All rights reserved

16 thoughts on “True Love!

    • I agree Paula. With the history of graffiti going back thousands of years I think someone leaving a trace of their presence is a remarkable gift to all of us who follow.

      I particularly liked the examples I came across when visiting tunnels on the Western Front a few years ago as well as the traces left by people who lived along Hadrian’s Wall.

      • War related scrawlings must be very moving to see in situ. I found the graffiti in the Tower of London to be the most astonishing I’ve ever seen, particularly for the fact no one ever thought to remove it.

  1. Interesting idea for a photo study – I bet most of those were smooth-barked beeches! I think the only time I’ve done that was in the sand in the desert when I was in love with a Beduin!

  2. I don’t care for the practice either. But as you have shown they can make very interesting subjects. I love your collection! We get a lot of carving on aspen trees here, by tourists I assume. Sometimes I don’t mind the carvings being in my scene and sometimes I do.

  3. I agree with others that it’s a strange practice to deface trees – and other things- although I am fascinated by this, street art and graffiti. You’ve made some beautiful images of them, Simon, and it’s a great idea for a project. Thanks for following me, too. 🙂

Leave a comment